Helping people

when they need it most.

Schedule A Free Consultation

*excluding traffic tickets*



Visit our social pages

A Full-Service-Firm Ready To Solve Your Problems

How are DWI convictions punished in New York?

Drivers in New York should be aware of the fact that the state is one of the harshest when it comes to doling out penalties for DWI-related convictions. Even first time offenders may find themselves facing steep and unavoidable consequences.

New York Laws takes a look at the vehicle traffic laws that involve the consumption of alcohol or other substances before operating a vehicle, also known as driving while intoxicated (DWI).

First, know that you can get into trouble even for issues that aren’t directly related to the possibility of you being intoxicated. For example, refusing to submit to a chemical test can result in your license being revoked for at least a year, along with a civil penalty of up to $500.

Meanwhile, the more severe your accused crimes are, the heavier a penalty you risk facing. For example, aggravating driving while intoxicated can result in a fine of up to $2,500 and a year in jail. A third A-DWI in 10 years can result in fines of up to $10,000, along with 7 years in jail.

A DWI charge on its own can still end up costing you up to $1,000 along with a year in jail. Additionally, for the aforementioned charges, you could face license revocation for anywhere from 12 to 18 months.

If you are facing the potential of conviction for any sort of DWI-related charge you may be facing, consider contacting an experienced attorney as quickly as possible. They can help defend your finances, license, future freedom and more.